Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Labelling of Cosmetics, Drugs & Natural Health Products

Canadian consumers often ask questions about the labelling of ingredients in cosmetic and drug products distributed in Canada, as well as food labelling.

The enhanced labelling proposal in Canada for priority allergens, gluten sources and sulphites which to the best of my knowledge is anticipated to move forward sometime in 2006. Any updates on this file may be made available at www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/label-etiquet/allergen/index_e.html.

For the Health Canada announcement on mandatory labelling of cosmetics, effective November 16, 2006, please visit www.hc-sc.gc.ca/iyh-vsv/prod/cosmet_prod_e.html.

With respect to drug products, although there was regulatory initiative several years ago, there is no requirement to declare the non-medicinal ingredients in drug products distributed in Canada and no initiative underway at this time. Individuals with concerns about non-medicinal drug ingredients are well-advised to speak to their pharmacist, contact the manufacturer and in the case of a suspect adverse reaction make use of the Health Canada Adverse Reaction Reporting system. Consumers, a family member, their pharmacist or physician, etc. may file a report. For access to the reporting form and information about the program, visit www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/medeff/report-declaration/index_e.html.

For those with an interest in natural health products, the concerns for labelling of ingredients were heard during the consultations which took place during the development of the Natural Health Product Regulatory Framework. Both medicinal and non-medicinal ingredients must be declared for natural health products distributed in Canada. For details on the labelling of natural health products:
www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodnatur/about-apropos/53_recommend_nhp-cps_doc7_e.html
www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodnatur/legislation/docs/license-licence_guide_1_e.html#1_4

The AAIA thanks Lance Hill of the CFIA for the above information.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 3 2006

return Return to the Labelling section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2017
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Étiquetage - Cosmétiques, médicaments et produits de santé naturels

Les consommateurs canadiennes posent souvent des questions sur l’étiquetage des ingrédients non seulement des aliments mais aussi des produits cosmétiques et des médicaments.

Aux dernières nouvelles, une proposition améliorée d’étiquetage pour les allergènes prioritaires, les sources de gluten et les sulphites devrait aller de l’avant en 2006. Pour vous mettre à jour dans ce dossier, voyez le site www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/label-etiquet/allergen/index_f.html.

Voici une autre adresse Internet de Santé Canada où vous trouverez l’énoncé de l’étiquetage des ingrédients des produits cosmétiques qui deviendra obligatoire à partir du 16 novembre 2006 :
www.hc-sc.gc.ca/iyh-vsv/prod/cosmet_prod_f.html

Du côté des médicaments, un projet de réglementation a été élaboré il y a plusieurs années. Cependant, on n’est toujours pas tenu de déclarer les ingrédients non médicamenteux dans ces produits au Canada, et aucune initiative en ce sens n’existe à l’heure actuelle.

Les personnes que ces ingrédients préoccupent seraient bien avisées d’en parler à leur pharmacien, de communiquer avec le fabricant du médicament et, si l’on soupçonne une réaction indésirable, ne pas hésiter à recourir aux programmes de Santé Canada qui permettent de le déclarer. Les consommateurs, un membre de la famille, le pharmacien, un médecin et toute autre personne peut le faire. Pour obtenir un formulaire et de l’information sur ces programmes de déclaration d’effets indésirables, consultez le site www.hc-sc.gc.ca/ahc-asc/media/reaction/index_f.html.

Enfin, pour ceux et celles que les produits de santé naturel (PSN) intéressent, de nombreuses inquiétudes sur l’étiquetage des ingrédients ont été exprimées lors des consultations qui ont aidé à bâtir un Cadre réglementaire pour les produits de santé naturels au Canada. D’après celui-ci, tous les ingrédients aussi bien médicamenteux que non médicamenteux de ces produits doivent être déclarés au Canada. Pour des détails sur l’étiquetage des PSN, voyez les sites suivants :
www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodnatur/about-apropos/53_recommend_nhp-cps_doc7_f.html
www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodnatur/legislation/docs/license-licence_guide_1_f.html.

L’AIAA tient à remercier chaleureusement Lance Hill de l’ACIA pour tous ces renseignements.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 3 2006

return Retour à la section Étiquetage

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2017
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.