Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Halloween Is Not Far Off!

Halloween rates as one of biggest stressors for parents of food allergic children. However, with some advance planning and some simple precautions, allergic children should be able to take part and enjoy the excitement of the season.

Plan ahead. Discuss with your child how he or she will deal with forbidden treats, whether they are collected while trick or treating, passed out at school parties or simply more prevalent at that time of year.

Mom and Dad could exchange them for safe treats or toys. Or siblings could trade. Or, even better, the child could “re-gift” them to a special friend or relative of his or her choice.

This is a good time to reinforce the no-sharing food rule at school and elsewhere. And no snacking while trick or treating - or handling of the treats unless they have been checked by a parent. Ideally a parent or older sibling should make the rounds with the allergic child.

Keep things positive and serve a good evening meal, preferably a favourite, before the child goes trick or treating, so that hunger won't lead to temptation.

Focus on the positive and have fun. For example spend time decorating the front door or lawn and checking out other decorated homes – this is part of the fun of Halloween.

Check with schools or day cares well in advance to see what plans are underway for Halloween celebrations. Encourage non-food items. If food is being served be sure to send safe snacks for your child and remind the staff about the importance of good food handling hygiene and practices.

For more info go to “Holidays and Celebrations”.

return Return to the Holidays section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2017
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Bientôt l’Halloween!

L’Halloween représente une source de stress très élevé pour les parents d’enfants allergiques. Si vous êtes prévoyants et prenez de simples précautions, les enfants allergiques devraient quand même s’amuser pleinement.

Planifiez à l’avance. Discutez avec votre enfant de ce qu’il pourrait faire des friandises interdites recueillies dans sa tournée du quartier et à la fête de l’école ou qui sont partout à sa portée en cette période de l’année.

Maman et papa pourraient les remplacer par d’autres friandises sans danger ou une gâterie comme un jouet. Mieux encore, votre enfant pourrait en faire cadeau à un ami ou à un parent de son choix.

L’Halloween est une bonne occasion de renforcer la règle qui interdit le partage de la nourriture à l’école et ailleurs. Ajoutez-y qu’on ne goûte pas et qu’on ne manipule pas les friandises pendant qu’on « passe » l’Halloween, à moins d’être accompagné d’un parent, d’une soeur ou d’un frère plus âgé qui les a vérifiées.

Demeurez positif. Servez aux enfants un bon repas, avec leurs mets préférés, avant de les laisser sortir pour la grande tournée. Ils n’auront pas faim et résisteront mieux à la tentation.

Ne soyez pas négatif. Concentrez-vous sur les plaisirs de la fête. Prenez le temps de décorer votre porte d’entrée ou votre parterre; intéressez-vous aux décorations des autres maisons et aux déguisements. Cela fait aussi partie de l’Halloween.

N’oubliez pas de consulter les écoles ou les services de garde pour connaître le programme des fêtes. Encouragez-les à distribuer des gâteries qui ne se mangent pas. Si de la nourriture est prévue, veillez à ce que votre enfant ait une collation sans danger et insistez auprès du personnel sur l’importance des bonnes pratiques d’hygiène et de manipulation des aliments.

Pour plus d’information, consultez la rubrique « C’est la fête! ».

return Retour à la section des Fêtes

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2017
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.