Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Bequests

Support AAIA: Leave a Legacy for Life

Help AAIA continue its good works well into the future by arranging a gift in your estate. After planning for your family's future, you may wish to leave a legacy gift to a cause that is near and dear to your heart and which has represented your lifetime values and personal beliefs.

Include the Allergy/Asthma Information Association as a beneficiary in your will. This is called a bequest.

Bequests

A bequest can be made in the form of cash or property by including AAIA as a beneficiary in your will. It is simple to arrange and can significantly reduce the tax paid by your estate. As you may make changes to your will at any time, you retain full control of your gift and can easily alter or add a codicil to the will to meet changing circumstances.

You may also make a residual bequest to AAIA. A residual bequest is a gift of all or a fraction of whatever remains after all debts, taxes, expenses and other bequests are paid.

A will is a valuable legal document to have. It can safeguard your family's financial future and ensure that your assets are distributed according to your exact wishes. Without a will, your estate will be distributed according to the government and you may subject your family to increased financial and personal costs. It is prudent to consider legal advice in preparing your will.

How should the bequest be worded?

If you would like to provide support for the future work of AAIA by including a charitable bequest in your will, the following language may be helpful:

"I give to Allergy/Asthma Information Association (hereafter referred to as AAIA) currently located at 17 Four Seasons Place, Suite 200, Toronto, Ontario  M9B 6E6 the sum of $________. (or ________% of my estate) to be used in support of its general charitable purposes."

Will there be any tax advantages if I leave a gift in my will to AAIA?

AAIA is a fully registered charitable organization. A tax credit can be claimed for the amount of your gift up to 100% of the net income in the year of your death. As well, if the amount of your bequest exceeds your income for that year, credit for the excess can be applied up to 100% of the previous year's income. This may significantly reduce the amount of tax paid by your estate and increase the amount left to your heirs. AAIA strongly recommends that you seek the advice of an independent financial advisor familiar with your personal situation.

Download Request for InformationDonation Form (PDF version will open in a new window) Form

To speak with us about arranging a donation in your will, please call our national office at 1-800-611-7011 and ask to speak with our Planned Giving Consultant.

return Return to the Planned Giving section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2017
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Legs

Encouragez l’AIAA! Pour laisser un héritage durable

En prévoyant un don testamentaire, vous aiderez l’AIAA à poursuivre son oeuvre. Une fois assuré l’avenir de votre famille, peut-être voudrez-vous faire de même pour une cause qui vous tient à coeur et qui représente les valeurs et les convictions que vous avez adoptées dans votre vie.

Inscrivez l’Association d’information sur l’allergie et l’asthme à titre de bénéficiaire dans votre testament. Cela s’appelle un legs.

Legs

Vous pouvez léguer de l’argent ou des biens à l'AIAA en la désignant comme bénéficiaire dans votre testament. La procédure est simple et peut réduire considérablement l’impôt que votre succession aura à payer. Comme vous pouvez facilement modifier votre testament en tout temps, ou y ajouter un codicille si les circonstances ont changé, vous gardez la mainmise sur votre don.

Vous pouvez aussi faire un legs résiduel à l’AIAA, soit un don de tout ou d’une partie de ce qui reste après que les dettes, les taxes, les dépenses et vos autres legs ont été acquittés.

Le testament est un document juridique fort utile. Il peut mettre votre famille à l’abri financièrement tout en veillant à ce qu’on dispose de vos biens en respectant vos dernières volontés. En l’absence de testament, c’est le gouvernement qui se chargera de votre succession. Dans ce cas, votre famille pourrait se retrouver avec des coûts financiers et des dépenses personnelles plus élevés. Il serait sage d’obtenir un avis juridique pour faire votre testament.

Comment formuler votre legs

Le texte suivant vous sera utile si vous désirez inclure dans votre testament un legs de charité à l’intention de l’AIAA.

« Je lègue à l’Association d’information sur l’allergie et l’asthme (ci-après « l’AIAA »), dont le bureau national est situé au 17, Four Seasons Place, Suite 200 à Toronto en Ontario avec le code postal M9B 6E6, la somme de ________ $, ou __________ % de ma succession, pour l’aider à poursuivre ses activités courantes à des fins caritatives. »

Avantages fiscaux

L’AIAA est un organisme de charité dûment enregistré. Vous obtiendrez un crédit d’impôt pouvant atteindre 100 % de votre revenu net l’année de votre décès. Si votre legs dépasse le montant de votre revenu net pour cette année, un crédit pour la portion excédentaire pourra être appliqué à l’impôt de l’année précédente, encore une fois jusqu’à concurrence de 100 % du revenu net. Ceci peut réduire considérablement l’impôt à payer sur votre succession et augmenter d’autant le montant laissé à vos héritiers. À cet effet, l’AIAA vous recommande vivement de consulter un conseiller financier indépendant qui connaisse bien votre situation.

Téléchargez ce formulairele Formulaire de don à l’AIAA (La version PDF s'affichera dans une nouvelle fenÍtre)

Vous aimeriez discuter des dispositions à prendre pour faire un don par testament?
Appelez notre bureau national à 1 800 611-7011 et demandez notre conseillère en dons planifiés.

return Retour à la section Don planifié

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2017
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.