Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Asthma Statistics

According to the 2003 Canadian Community Health Survey, 8.4% of the population aged 12 or older reported that they had been diagnosed with asthma. The prevalence in teens was over 12%. In the three year period between 1998 and 2001, close to 80,000 people were admitted to hospitals for asthma, with hospitalization rates highest for young children and seniors. The number of deaths has fallen sharply since 1985. There were 299 deaths in 2001. Seven of those who died in 2001 were under 19 years of age while 185 (62%) were over 70 years of age. Source Health Reports, Vol 16, No.2, March 2005 (Statistics Canada, Catalogue 82-003)

The decline in asthma death rates, which appears to be continuing, is positive news. While no one factor can be credited, better education and awareness along with better treatments probably play a role. However there are no indications that the incidence of asthma is decreasing and it has a tremendous cost in terms of health care costs, quality of life, absenteeism at work and school, and lower productivity. Progress is being made but the battle is far from being won!

Given that the majority of asthma deaths occur in seniors, it is important for seniors themselves as well as their families and caregivers to be informed and aware of proper asthma treatment. In most provinces seniors have access to medications at low cost through government drug plans but they may need encouragement to seek preventive treatment. Many accept sub-par breathing as being “normal” since “they’ve always had it” or only want to take medication “when they need it and not on a regular basis”. Many do not realize that their asthma could be better controlled. They may be unaware of new medications and how much these new medications can improve their lives. Age is not a reason to accept poor breathing and seniors who do not use preventative medications may get little exercise and avoid pleasurable activities, to the detriment of their general health.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 3 2006

return Return to the Information about Asthma section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Statistiques sur l’asthme

Selon l’Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes de 2003 de Statistiques Canada, 8,4 % de la population âgée de 12 ans et plus rapporte avoir obtenu un diagnostic d’asthme. La prévalence chez les jeunes dépasse 12 %. Sur une période de trois ans, entre 1998 et 2001, près de 80 000 personnes ont été hospitalisées en raison d’asthme, les taux d’hospitalisation chez les jeunes enfants étant plus élevés que chez les aînés. Le nombre des décès a chuté depuis 1985. L’asthme aurait fait 299 morts en 2001, dont sept victimes de moins de 19 ans et 185 (62 %) de plus de 70 ans.

La baisse des décès, qui semble se poursuivre, est une bonne nouvelle. On ne peut l’attribuer à un seul facteur mais une meilleure éducation, une plus grande sensibilisation et l’amélioration du traitement y sont certainement pour quelque chose. Rien ne laisse croire cependant que l’incidence de l’asthme diminue alors qu’il représente un fardeau économique énorme en soins de santé, en qualité de vie, en absentéisme au travail et à l’école ainsi qu’en productivité réduite. Nous avons fait de grands progrès mais la bataille est loin d’être gagnée!

Étant donné que la plupart des décès dus à l’asthme se produisent chez les aînés, il est important que ceux-ci, leurs familles et leurs intervenants aient la bonne information et connaissent bien les traitements appropriés. Dans la plupart des provinces, les aînés ont accès à des médicaments moins chers par le biais des régimes d’assurance-médicaments des gouvernements. Il se peut cependant qu’ils aient besoin d’encouragement du point de vue de la médication préventive. Encore aujourd’hui, plusieurs personnes atteintes d’asthme accepteront une respiration sous la normale comme « normale » ou décideront de prendre leurs médicaments « au besoin, pas régulièrement ». Plusieurs d’entre elles ne réalisent pas que leur asthme pourrait être mieux maîtrisé. Il se peut qu’elles ne connaissent pas les nouveaux médicaments et ne sachent pas combien ils pourraient améliorer leur vie. L’âge n’est pas une raison pour se contenter de mal respirer. Les aînés qui n’ont pas recours aux médicaments préventifs font moins d’exercice et se privent d’activités agréables au détriment de leur état général de santé.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 3 2006

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'asthme

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2017
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.