Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Airport Security Alert: What Allergic Passengers Need to Know

Because of recent increases in security measures in airports, no liquids or gels of any kind will be permitted in carry-on baggage. These items must be in checked baggage. This includes all beverages, shampoo, suntan lotion, creams, tooth paste, hair gel, and other items of similar consistency. Exception: baby formula, breast milk, or juice if a baby or small child is traveling; prescription medicine with a name that matches the passenger's ticket; and insulin and essential other non-prescription medicines. Check with your airline and with the relevant government transportation agency in the country or countries in which you will travel.

If you carry an auto-injector or prescribed asthma medications in hand baggage, be sure that the original packaging with the pharmacy label is attached and that the name on the medication matches the name of the passenger. It may also be wise to have a letter from your doctor that explains the need for the medication and copies of prescriptions.

If you normally carry non-prescription medications, you could ask for a prescription to ensure that you will be able to carry them on the plane. For some medications such as antihistamines it may be possible to switch from a liquid to pills.

If you need to take your own food on board, you need to carefully plan what food will be allowed on the plane. Foods like pudding or yogurt could be suspect. Dried food, a sandwich or other solid food for example, would likely be okay. Again, check with your airline or airport security.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 4 2006

return Return to the Travel with Allergies section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2017
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Sécurité des aéroports : ce que tout passager allergique doit savoir

On a dernièrement intensifié les règles de sécurité des aéroports ce qui fait qu’aucun liquide ou gel ne sera admis dans les bagages à main. Cela inclut toute boisson, shampooing, lotion solaire, crème, pâte à dents, gel pour les cheveux ou autre article ayant cette consistance. Voici les exceptions : formule pour bébé, lait maternel, jus pour un nourrisson ou un enfant; médicaments d’ordonnance pour la personne au nom de laquelle est émis le billet; insuline et médicaments essentiels vendus sans ordonnance. Il y a eu d’autres changements plus récemment. Communiquez avec votre compagnie aérienne et les autorités aéroportuaires d’ici et des pays où vous désirez vous rendre pour bien vérifier.

Si vous transportez un auto-injecteur ou des médicaments sous ordonnance pour l’asthme, assurez-vous d’avoir leur contenant original avec l’étiquette de votre pharmacie et que le nom sur l’étiquette est le même que sur le billet d’avion. Il serait aussi plus prudent de vous procurer une lettre de votre médecin et des copies de vos prescriptions montrant que vous avez bien besoin de ces médicaments.

Si vous emportez généralement en voyage des médicaments sans ordonnance, demandez-en une pour être certain de pouvoir les avoir avec vous sur l’avion. Dans certains cas, comme les médicaments antihistaminiques, il vous sera possible de passer d’une formule liquide à des pilules.

S’il vous faut votre propre nourriture à bord, planifiez en fonction de ce qui est permis. Des aliments comme le yogourt et le pouding pourraient sembler suspects. Les aliments séchés, un sandwich ou autre nourriture solide devraient aller. Encore une fois, il vaut mieux vérifier auprès de votre compagnie aérienne ou des autorités aéroportuaires.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 4 2006

return Retour à la section Voyager avec des allergies

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2017
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.