Allergy/Asthma Information Association

An Active Lifestyle for Asthmatic Children

By Dr. Harold Kim, MD, FRCPC, Kitchener, ON

Asthma is the most common chronic illness in children and is one of the most frequent reasons for hospitalizations. The increase in the number of asthmatic children has followed the overall increase in other allergic conditions in the western world. Most children with asthma have ongoing lung inflammation with periods of worsening or exacerbations over time. Most asthma experts believe that the control of the ongoing inflammation will lead to fewer asthma exacerbations, better asthma control and a more normal life for these children.

The first step in helping asthmatic children is for the child and their parents to gain a good understanding of the underlying disease processes of asthma. We know that the majority of asthmatics do not really appreciate the mechanisms of the disease or how asthma should be managed. Most asthmatic children are allergic. Approximately 70-80% have at least one allergy identified when they have allergy skin tests completed. In many cases, these allergens are inhaled and lead to the chronic inflammation in the lungs that is the hallmark of asthma. In addition, the inflammation of asthma can worsen during exacerbations after exposure to viral respiratory infections, irritant exposure (e.g. smoke) or high levels of allergen exposure. Some surveys have estimated that over 50% of asthmatic children have had at least one severe asthma attack in the previous year. The frequency of asthma exacerbations varies over the year. For example, Canadian studies have shown that the most predictable time for severe asthma attacks is in late September. This time may be worse because viral infections increase soon after children return to school after Labour Day. Currently, we feel that prevention of these exacerbations is a key in contributing to a normal quality of life for the patient and their families.

Asthmatic children should be prepared for the common causes of asthma exacerbations. Although most children must attend school, we can be ready in other ways for these predictable times when asthma worsens. With regards to this "September Spike" in asthma, I feel that nearly all asthmatics should be taking maintenance asthma medications such as inhaled steroids daily from early September through the fall. This approach to therapy should prevent many severe asthma attacks caused by viral infections in children. As well, the child's identified allergens and exposure to smoke should be avoided. For children with worsening asthma during exercise, a relief inhaler can be taken about 20 minutes before exercise to prevent flares of asthma. Importantly, all asthmatics should have a written asthma action plan on how to deal with these exacerbations. Their health practitioners, including certified asthma educators, can provide these action plans.

Asthma actions plans should incorporate a definition of good asthma control. We feel that good asthma control means that a child with asthma is having no exacerbations, has a normal activity level, is not missing school, has no night time symptoms and requires their rescue bronchodilator infrequently. All of these criteria for good asthma control are very important, but for children it is particularly important that there is a normal activity level and school attendance is nearly perfect. Many asthmatics accept poor control and do not realize that a normal life is often quite easily achieved. For example, many asthmatic children will sit out physical education class at school or avoid sporting activities because they do not realize that their asthma could be well controlled. In fact, many world-class athletes with asthma have won Olympic medals. Asthmatic children should be encouraged to participate in physical activities for better overall health and fitness. Although obesity is not likely a cause of asthma, it is likely that children who are inactive will have an increased chance of becoming overweight. If obesity occurs, then the child is at risk of worsening asthma and developing other medical problems such as heart disease or diabetes. Often, children may miss days or even weeks of school because their asthma is flaring. These patients often do not realize there are safe and effective medications available that could improve their asthma control and prevent missed school days or sporting activities.

The mainstay of asthma therapy is inhaled corticosteroid (e.g. Flovent, Pulmicort, QVAR) medications. Over the last few decades, these effective and safe medications have revolutionized asthma care and have led to a dramatic improvement in the quality of life of asthmatics. Not only have these medications decreased the number of people dying from asthma, but also have improved all aspects of asthma control. Even very young children can take these medications to decrease the inflammation in the airways. This reduction in inflammation is essential for asthma to truly improve. The relief bronchodilator inhalers (e.g. Ventolin, Oxeze) should always be available for breakthrough symptoms. If these medications are not adequately controlling symptoms, then leukotriene antagonists (e.g. Singulair) or long acting beta agonists (e.g. Oxeze, Salmeterol) can be added onto the inhaled steroid medication. Also, there are some recent studies that show that leukotriene antagonists may prevent episodes of viral-induced asthma. There are new convenient combination inhalers available that contain both the inhaled corticosteroid and the long acting beta agonist (e.g. Advair, Symbicort). Regular use of the maintenance medications will prevent many asthma exacerbations and often lead to normal life for children with asthma.

In conclusion, children with asthma can lead active and productive lives. Our understanding of the causes and mechanisms of this disease have dramatically improved. With this understanding, have come several new and effective treatments. Now, we are able to control asthma with these modern therapies so that most asthmatic children can lead normal lives.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 3 2005

return Return to the Information about Asthma section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Vie active pour les enfants asthmatiques

Harold Kim, MD FRCPC, Kitchener (Ontario)

L’asthme est l’une des maladies chroniques les plus courantes chez les enfants et l’une des raisons les plus fréquentes d’hospitalisation. L’augmentation du nombre d’enfants asthmatiques a suivi la progression d’autres affections allergiques dans le monde occidental. La plupart des enfants atteints d’asthme souffrent d’une inflammation pulmonaire persistante avec des périodes d’aggravation ou d’exacerbation. La plupart des spécialistes de l’asthme pensent que par le contrôle de l’inflammation persistante on obtiendra un moins grand nombre d’exacerbations, une meilleure maîtrise de la maladie et une vie plus normale pour les enfants.

Pour aider les enfants asthmatiques, il faut d’abord qu’eux-mêmes et leurs parents apprennent à bien comprendre les processus sous-jacents de l’asthme. Nous savons qu’une majorité des personnes affectées ne connaissent pas vraiment les mécanismes de la maladie ou comment la prendre en charge. La plupart des enfants asthmatiques sont aussi allergiques. Environ 70 à 80 % d’entre eux ont au moins une allergie identifiée lorsqu’ils passent des tests d’allergie cutanés. Dans plusieurs cas, ils sont sensibles à des allergènes inhalés qui provoquent une inflammation chronique des poumons : la marque de l’asthme. De plus, l’inflammation de l’asthme peut empirer lorsqu’il y a exacerbation à la suite d’une exposition aux infections virales respiratoires, à un irritant (comme la fumée) ou à de fortes concentrations d’allergènes. Des études estiment que plus de 50 % des enfants asthmatiques ont subi au moins une crise grave dans les derniers 12 mois. Cette fréquence d’exacerbations de l’asthme varie au cours de l’année. Par exemple, des études canadiennes montrent que fin septembre est la période la plus prévisible de crises d’asthme graves, une période plus défavorable parce que les infections virales augmentent chez les enfants peu après la rentrée des classes et la fête du Travail. Nous trouvons actuellement que la prévention de ces exacerbations est la clé d’une qualité de vie normale pour le patient et pour sa famille.

Il faut préparer les enfants asthmatiques aux causes courantes d’exacerbation. La plupart doivent aller à l’école et il y a moyen de les préparer pour les périodes où l’on s’attend à ce que leur asthme s’aggrave. Pour la « pointe de septembre », je crois que toutes les personnes asthmatiques devraient prendre des médicaments de contrôle, comme des corticostéroïdes inhalés, tout l’automne depuis début septembre. Cette approche thérapeutique devrait prévenir de nombreuses crises d’asthme graves chez les enfants causées par des infections virales. Il faut aussi éviter d’exposer les enfants à leurs allergènes désignés et à la fumée.  Les enfants dont l’asthme s’aggrave à l’effort peuvent prendre un médicament de soulagement inhalé environ 20 minutes avant de faire de l’exercice pour prévenir les poussées de la maladie. Il importe de souligner que toute personne asthmatique doit avoir un plan d’action par écrit indiquant quoi faire en cas d’exacerbation. Ce plan peut lui être fourni par un professionnel de la santé, y compris un éducateur certifié sur l’asthme.

Les plans d’action pour l’asthme doivent inclure une définition de la bonne maîtrise de l’asthme. Nous croyons qu’une bonne maîtrise de l’asthme veut dire que l’enfant atteint n’a pas d’exacerbations, a un rythme d’activité normal, ne s’absente pas de l’école, n’éprouve pas de symptômes nocturnes et utilise rarement son bronchodilatateur de secours. Ces critères de bonne maîtrise de l’asthme sont tous très importants ainsi que, particulièrement chez les enfants, le maintien d’une activité normale et d’une assiduité presque parfaite à l’école. Plusieurs personnes asthmatiques se contentent d’un asthme mal contrôlé sans savoir qu’il est assez facile de mener une vie normale. Par exemple, plusieurs enfants asthmatiques restent assis pendant les cours d’éducation physique ou évitent de faire du sport parce qu’ils ne réalisent pas que leur asthme pourrait être facilement contrôlé. En fait, plusieurs athlètes de renommée mondiale atteints d’asthme ont gagné des médailles olympiques. Il faut donc encourager les enfants asthmatiques à faire de l’activité physique pour leur santé et pour leur bonne forme en général. Bien que l’obésité ne soit probablement pas une cause d’asthme, les enfants qui demeurent inactifs s’exposent à un risque accru d’obésité. Si l’obésité de manifeste, un enfant risque de voir s’aggraver son asthme et de développer d’autres  problèmes de santé comme une maladie du coeur ou le diabète. Les poussées d’asthme empêchent souvent un enfant d’aller à l’école pendant des jours ou même des semaines. Il arrive fréquemment que ces patients ne réalisent pas qu’il existe des médicaments efficaces et sans danger qui peuvent les aider à obtenir un asthme mieux contrôlé sans avoir à manquer l’école ou des activités sportives.

Les corticostéroïdes inhalés (comme Flovent, Pulmicort, QVAR) constituent le point d’appui de la pharmacothérapie de l’asthme. Dans les dernières décennies, ces médicaments efficaces et sans danger ont révolutionné le traitement de la maladie et entraîné une nette amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes. Ces médicaments ont non seulement diminué le nombre des décès dus à l’asthme mais ont aussi amélioré tous les aspects de sa maîtrise. Même de très jeunes enfants peuvent en prendre pour diminuer l’inflammation dans les voies aériennes. Un tel progrès s’avère essentiel à une véritable amélioration de l’asthme. Les bronchodilatateurs de secours inhalés (comme Ventolin, Oxeze) doivent toujours être disponibles quand des symptômes se déclarent. S’il s’avère qu’ils ne maîtrisent pas bien les symptômes, on peut y ajouter des antileucotriènes (comme Singulair) ou un bêta-agoniste à action prolongée (comme Oxeze, Salmeterol). Des études récentes indiquent aussi que les antileucotriènes peuvent prévenir les épisodes d’asthme induit par un virus. Il existe de nouveaux inhalateurs pratiques qui associent des corticostéroïdes et des médicaments bêta-agonistes à action prolongée (comme Advair, Symbicort). L’usage régulier des médicaments de contrôle préviendra de nombreuses exacerbations de l’asthme et permettra à plusieurs enfants asthmatiques de de mener une une vie normale.

En conclusion, il est possible pour les enfants asthmatiques d’avoir une vie active et productive. Notre compréhension des causes et des mécanismes de cette maladie fait de grands progrès et permet l’émergence de plusieurs nouveaux traitements efficaces. Grâce à ces nouvelles thérapies modernes, nous sommes maintenant en mesure d’obtenir une meilleure maîtrise de l’asthme afin que la plupart des enfants qui en sont atteints puissent vivre normalement.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 3 2005

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'asthme

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2017
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.