Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Click to view brochure.

What is asthma?

Asthma is a chronic and inflammatory respiratory condition that is often diagnosed in childhood. It results from the interaction of genetic tendency, sensitization to allergens, and exposure to "triggers". There is no cure, but it can usually be controlled by minimizing exposure to allergens and irritants, and by proper use of medications.

Asthma is relatively common, affecting an estimated 12% of children and 8% of adults in Canada. Symptoms can include episodes of coughing, wheezing, chest tightness, mucus production and shortness of breath. Some individuals with asthma will have one or more of these symptoms only with a cold or when exercising while others will have seasonal or year-round symptoms. "Attacks" can range from mild to severe and can vary over time in the same individual. Asthma has a significant impact on quality of life and is a leading cause of absenteeism at school and at work. Over two hundred Canadians die each year from asthma.

Physicians have long recognized the importance of education in controlling asthma and this education is best started at a young age. Awareness of asthma and its triggers, avoidance of triggers, and proper use of medications are essential to controlling symptoms. Asthma education emphasizes preventative measures and includes written action plans for patients that allow rapid adjustment of medications when symptoms worsen.

Asthma - The FactsAsthma - The Facts (PDF version will open in a new window)

Asthma is a common, chronic condition affecting the airways of the lungs. In Canada 12% of children and 8% of adults have asthma, which is approximately 2.5 million Canadians.

Asthma is characterized by inflammation (redness and swelling of the inside lining of the airways), bronchospasm (a tightening of the muscles surrounding the airways), and excess mucus production in the small airways of the lungs... [read more...]

How to Enjoy the Outdoors with Allergic Asthma

by Dr. Ross Chang, MD, FRCPC, Vancouver, BC

Learn the link:

Managing your asthma and your seasonal allergies. Next link will open in a new window[read more...]

Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)

by James R. Gray, MD, FRCP(C), University of British Columbia

What is a Certified Asthma Educator (CAE)?

In 1999, the Canadian Network for Asthma Care (CNAC) established a national certification program for Canadian asthma educators – creating the Certified Asthma Educator (CAE). [read more...]

A New Treatment Strategy for Asthma —
Single Inhaler Maintenance and Reliever Therapy (SMART)

Recently, studies have evaluated a new treatment strategy whereby patients use just one inhaler for their asthma. [read more...]

Asthma Statistics

According to the 2003 Canadian Community Health Survey, 8.4% of the population aged 12 or older reported that they had been diagnosed with asthma. [read more...]

Adult Asthma Consensus Guidelines Update 2003

Several sets of Canadian guidelines for the diagnosis and management of asthma have been published over the past 15 years, dealing with the initial treatment of asthma, add-on therapies in the treatment of asthma and asthma education. [read more...]

An Active Lifestyle for Asthmatic Children

by Dr. Harold Kim, MD, FRCPC, Kitchener, ON

A Patient's Guide to Asthma Care

According to recent Health Canada surveys, there are serious gaps between how asthma should be treated and how it actually is. The Allergy/Asthma Information Association (AAIA) and concerned government branches, physician groups and corporate partners have come together to offer, direct-to-you, the following information on asthma and its treatment. [read more...]

Exercise Induced Asthma?

A handy checklist from the American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology.

New Canadian Paediatric Asthma Guidelines

Canada's asthma guidelines were originally published in 1999. At that time there was little focus on childhood asthma. In the most recent update, paediatric asthma was addressed and the guidelines for children have recently been published in the Canadian Medical Association Journal...[read more...]

Winter Asthma Tip

Cold air and asthma need not be enemies. [read more...]

Requires Adobe ReaderRequires Adobe Reader. Download for free from Next link will open in a new windowAdobe's Web site

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Les faits sur l'asthme.

De l'information sur l'asthme

Qu’est-ce que l’asthme?

L’asthme est une maladie chronique d’inflammation respiratoire souvent diagnostiquée à l’enfance. Il résulte de l’interaction de prédispositions génétiques, de la sensibilisation des voies respiratoires aux allergènes et de l’exposition à des « déclencheurs » (facteurs qui provoquent ou qui aggravent l’asthme). L’asthme ne peut être guéri mais il peut être contrôlé en diminuant l’exposition aux allergènes et aux irritants et en adoptant une médication appropriée.

L’asthme est relativement courant. Au Canada, il affecte quelque 12% des enfants et 8% des adultes.1 La toux, la respiration sifflante, l’oppression thoracique (gêne respiratoire : sensation d’un poids qui oppresse la poitrine), la surproduction de mucus (sécrétions qui encombrent les voies respiratoire) et l’essoufflement en sont des symptômes. L’asthme varie d’une personne à l’autre. Chez certains, un ou plusieurs symptômes se manifestent simplement en attrapant un rhume ou en faisant de l’exercice. Chez d’autres, ils apparaissent de façon saisonnière ou même à longueur d’année. Les « crises » d’asthme peuvent être légères ou graves et changer avec le temps pour la même personne. L’asthme influence donc considérablement la qualité de vie. Il constitue l’une des principales causes d’absentéisme à l’école et au travail. Plus de 400 personnes en meurent au Canada chaque année.

Les médecins reconnaissent depuis longtemps l’importance de l’éducation dans le contrôle de l’asthme et la recommandent dès l’enfance. Pour arriver à maitriser ses symptômes, il est essentiel de connaître l’asthme et ce qui le provoque, d’éviter ses déclencheurs et de savoir prendre ses médicaments. L’éducation sur l’asthme met aussi l’accent sur les mesures préventives et comprend des plans d’actions écrits qui permettent aux patients d’ajuster rapidement leurs médicaments si leurs symptômes s’aggravent.

Les faits sur l'asthmeLes faits sur l'asthme (La version PDF s'affichera dans une nouvelle fenÍtre)

L’asthme est une maladie chronique courante qui affecte les voies respiratoires qui mènent aux poumons. Au Canada, l’asthme touche 12% des enfants et 8% des adultes soit, environ 2,5 millions de personnes.

L’asthme se caractérise par de l’inflammation (tuméfaction et rougeur des muqueuses des voies respiratoires), le bronchospasme (contraction des muscles entourant les voies respiratoires) et la surproduction de mucus (sécrétions qui encombrent les bronches)... [Pour en savoir plus]

Faire le lien :

La prise en charge de votre asthme et vos symptômes de rhinite allergique saisonnière. Le lien suivant s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenÍtre[Pour en savoir plus]

Le reflux gastro-oesophagien (RGO) pathologique

James R. Gray, MD, FRCP(C), Université de la Colombie-Britannique

Qu’est-ce qu’un ECA?

En 1999, Le Réseau canadien pour le traitement de l’asthme (RCTA) a établi un programme national de « certification » pour les éducateurs sur l’asthme au Canada, créant le titre « éducateur certifié dans le domaine de l’asthme » (ECA). [Pour en savoir plus]

SMART, une nouvelle stratégie de traitement de l’asthme

Les études récentes s’intéressent à une nouvelle stratégie de traitement de l’asthme voulant que les patients utilisent un seul inhalateur... [Pour en savoir plus]

Statistiques sur l’asthme

Selon l’Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes de 2003 de Statistiques Canada, 8,4 % de la population âgée de 12 ans et plus rapporte avoir obtenu un diagnostic d’asthme. [Pour en savoir plus]

Mise à jour 2003 du consensus sur l’asthme chez les adultes

Dans les 15 dernières années, plusieurs séries de directives du consensus canadien sur le diagnostic et le traitement de l’asthme ont été publiées. Elles couvrent le traitement initial de l’asthme, les traitements d’appoint et l’éducation. [Pour en savoir plus]

Vie active pour les enfants asthmatiques

Harold Kim, MD, FRCPC, Kitchener (Ontario)

Une guide sur l'asthme accessible à tous

Selon de récentes études menées par Santé Canada, il existe au Canada des écarts importants entre le traitement idéal pour l’asthme et son application dans les pratiques actuelles. Voilà pourquoi, l’Association d’information sur l’allergie et l’asthme (AAIA), en collaboration avec différentes divisions administratives du gouvernement, des associations de médecins ainsi que des partenaires corporatifs, vous offre directement à vous patient ou parent de patient, l’information suivante sur l’asthme et son traitement. [Pour en savoir plus]

Asthme induit par l’effort ?

Voici une liste de points à vérifier selon l’American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology.

Nouveaux principes directeurs sur l’asthme chez les enfants

Publiés en 1999, les premiers Principes directeurs du consensus canadien sur l’asthme accordaient peu d’attention à la maladie chez les enfants. Leur récente mise à jour s’y intéresse comme le montre le supplément du numéro de septembre 2005 du Journal de l’Association médicale canadienne....[Pour en savoir plus]

Conseil pour l’hiver

L’air froid et l’asthme ne sont pas nécessairement des ennemis. [Pour en savoir plus]

Nécessite Adobe ReaderNécessite Adobe Reader. Cliquez ici pour un téléchargement gratuit : Le lien suivant s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenÍtreSite Adobe

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2016
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.