Allergy/Asthma Information Association

Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)

By James R. Gray, MD, FRCP(C), Clinical Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology, University of British Columbia, Chairperson, Medical Advisory Council for The Canadian Society of Intestinal Research

Gastroesophageal reflux disease can be an important factor in causing or aggravating asthma or cough symptoms, particularly in people who do not respond to standard asthma treatment. If you are diagnosed with, and treated for, GERD you will experience better symptom control of your GERD and a possible reduction of your asthma symptoms. Sometimes these two conditions co-exist and, left untreated, this combination can worsen the severity of each condition. Each illness requires separate treatments. This article focuses on GERD.

Gastroesophageal reflux occurs when the upper portion of the digestive tract is not functioning properly. The esophagus is a muscular tube linking the mouth to the stomach. In normal digestion, a specialized ring of muscle at the bottom of the esophagus called the lower esophageal sphincter, or LES, opens to allow food to pass into the stomach and then quickly closes to prevent backflow into the esophagus. The LES can malfunction, allowing contents from the stomach, including food and digestive juices such as hydrochloric acid, to push up into the esophagus. In gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), this backflow is ongoing.

Acid reflux is responsible for the majority of the symptoms and/or damage to the esophagus. More than 20% of Canadians experience recurring GERD symptoms. Research studies reveal that GERD has a significant negative impact on well-being and quality of life.

Symptoms

Heartburn is the most common symptom of GERD. It usually feels like a burning pain in the chest, beginning behind the breastbone and moving toward the neck and throat. It often worsens after eating and while lying down, and can last as long as two hours at a time. The pain results from the irritating effects of stomach acid on the esophagus wall, which does not have the same natural protection from acid as does the stomach.

A number of individuals also describe a sensation of food or liquid coming up into the throat or mouth (regurgitation), especially when bending over or lying down and this can leave a bitter or sour taste in the mouth. While many Canadians experience occasional heartburn or regurgitation, these symptoms are frequent in persons with GERD.

GERD patients can also experience atypical symptoms, including persistent sore throat, hoarseness, chronic coughing, difficult or painful swallowing, asthma, unexplained chest pain, bad breath, a feeling of a lump in the throat, and an uncomfortable feeling of fullness after meals.

In some cases, the acid may travel all the way up the esophagus past the upper esophageal sphincter, or UES, and into the throat, damaging the structures in the throat. Known as laryngopharyngeal reflux disease, or LPR, this has now become an important diagnosis for physicians to consider in patients with chronic throat clearing, coughing, and a feeling of a lump in the throat. Sometimes, the acid lingering in the throat is breathed into the lungs, irritating the delicate tissues there causing symptoms to mimic those common in lung diseases diagnoses.

Too much stomach acid reflux can result in inflammation of the esophagus (esophagitis), which can lead to esophageal bleeding or ulcers. Chronic scarring may narrow the esophagus and interfere with a person’s ability to swallow, requiring surgery. A few patients may develop a condition known as Barrett’s esophagus, which is severe damage to the cells lining the bottom of the esophagus. Doctors believe Barrett’s esophagus may increase the chance of developing esophageal cancer. Please talk to your physician if your GERD symptoms change.

Diagnosis

In most cases, if your symptoms are primarily heartburn or acid regurgitation, your doctor can accurately diagnose GERD. However, at times testing may be required to confirm the diagnosis or to determine the degree of esophageal damage from GERD. Testing also rules out other possible causes of your symptoms. These tests may include an upper GI series, an upper GI endoscopy, and 24-hour pH monitoring. Other less frequently performed tests include the Bernstein test and esophageal manometry.

Management

Lifestyle and dietary changes Although clinical evidence suggests that lifestyle and dietary modifications are usually not sufficient to bring chronic GERD under control, your physician might make dietary recommendations to increase your comfort. Irritating foods vary from person to person, so try limiting foods that cause you discomfort. Avoiding large portions at mealtime and eating smaller, more frequent meals may aid in symptom control. Many overweight individuals find symptom relief when they lose weight, as it seems that the excess pounds put pressure on the digestive tract, negatively affecting its function. Smoking cessation is also important for reducing GERD symptoms as studies point to relaxation of the LES with smoking. GERD patients should avoid lying down right after eating and refrain from eating within two to three hours of bedtime. Elevating the head of the bed about six inches may also help, but do not do this by propping up your upper body with pillows as this bends the body, potentially increasing abdominal pressure.

Medications There are two main approaches to treating GERD with medications; neutralizing acid or blocking its production.

For neutralizing acid, over-the-counter medications such as Maalox®, Tums®, and bismuth (Pepto-Bismol®) may subdue symptoms. Some find that these non-prescription antacids provide quick, temporary, or partial relief but they do not prevent heartburn. Consult your physician if you are using antacids for more than 3 weeks.

Two classes of medication that suppress acid secretion are histamine-2 receptor antagonists (H2RAs) and proton pump inhibitors (PPIs).

H2RAs work by blocking the effect of histamine, which stimulates certain cells in the stomach to produce acid. These include cimetidine, ranitidine (Zantac®), famotidine (Pepcid®), and nizatidine (Axid®). H2RAs are all available by prescription and some are accessible in a lower dose non-prescription formulation.

PPIs work by blocking an enzyme necessary for acid secretion. These include omeprazole (Losec®), lansoprazole (Prevacid®), pantoprazole (Pantoloc®), esomeprazole (Nexium®), and rabeprazole (Pariet). In Canada, PPIs are available only by prescription. PPIs have emerged as the most effective therapy for relieving symptoms and improving quality of life, as well as healing and preventing damage to the esophagus in persons with GERD. If you would prefer to drink the medicine, you may mix Nexium® in water and consume it as a drink. Some PPIs have formulations for children as young as one year old. To achieve full effectiveness, these medications should be taken once a day for at least eight weeks, but symptom relief is usually felt within a couple of days.

Treatments that reduce reflux by increasing LES pressure and downward esophageal contractions are metoclopramide and domperidone maleate. A plant-based prokinetic agent, Iberogast®, helps regulate digestive motility and improve GERD symptoms.

All of the medications discussed above have specific treatment regiments, which you must follow closely for maximum effect. Usually, a combination of these measures can successfully control the symptoms of acid reflux. Some medications and supplements may aggravate your symptoms so be sure to check with your physician or pharmacist with any specific questions.

Outlook

Medications along with lifestyle and dietary changes successfully manage most cases of GERD and serious complications are rare. GERD is a chronic condition that can range from mild to severe.

This article is adapted from the patient information published by the Canadian Society of Intestinal Research, Next link will open in a new windowwww.badgut.org. Printed here by permission CSIR© all rights reserved.

from Allergy & Asthma News, Issue 4 2008

return Return to the Information about Asthma section

| Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © AAIA, 2016
Web site maintained by Konecny Consulting Inc.

Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme

Le reflux gastro-oesophagien (RGO) pathologique

James R. Gray, MD, FRCP(C), professeur adjoint d’enseignement clinique, faculté de médecine, division de gastro-entérologie, Université de la Colombie-Britannique et président du conseil médical consultatif de la Canadian Society of Intestinal Research

Le reflux gastro-oesophagien (RGO) peut constituer un facteur important dans la cause ou l’aggravation de l’asthme ou des symptômes de la toux, spécialement chez les personnes qui ne répondent pas au traitement normal de l’asthme. Obtenir un diagnostic de RGO ainsi que le traitement approprié vous permettra de mieux maîtriser vos symptômes de cette maladie tout en réduisant possiblement ceux de l’asthme. Il arrive que ces deux affections coexistent. Dans ce cas, l’absence de traitement peut augmenter la gravité de chacune d’elles. L’une et l’autre doivent être traitées séparément. Cet article s’intéresse au RGO.

Le reflux gastro-oesophagien se manifeste lorsque la partie supérieure du tube digestif ne fonctionne pas correctement. L’oesophage est un tube musculaire qui relie la bouche à l’estomac. Suivant une digestion normale, un anneau musculaire spécial, situé au bas de l’oesophage et appelé sphincter inférieur de l’oesophage ou SIO, se relâche pour laisser passer la nourriture dans l’estomac puis se contracte rapidement pour empêcher son reflux dans l’oesophage. Il est possible que le SIO ne fonctionne pas correctement et laisse le contenu de l’estomac, y compris la nourriture et les sucs digestifs comme l’acide chlorhydrique, remonter dans l’oesophage. Chez les personnes atteintes de RGO, ce refoulement est permanent.

Le reflux acide est responsable de la plupart des symptômes et dommages liés à l’oesophage. Plus de 20 % des Canadiens et des Canadiennes éprouvent des symptômes récurrents de RGO. Des études révèlent qu’il aurait des effets nuisibles significatifs sur le bien-être et la qualité de vie.

Symptômes

Les brûlures d’estomac constituent le symptôme le plus courant de RGO. Il s’agit habituellement d’un douleur brûlante à la poitrine, qui débute derrière le sternum et se déplace vers le cou et la gorge. Cette douleur peut durer jusqu’à deux heures et elle empire souvent au moment de manger ou de s’allonger. Elle est causée par l’acide gastrique quand il remonte sur la paroi de l’oesophage car celui-ci ne bénéficie pas d’une couche protectrice comme en a l’estomac.

Plusieurs personnes ont aussi une sensation de nourriture ou de liquide qui remonte dans la gorge ou la bouche en leur laissant un goût aigre ou amer (régurgitation), spécialement quand elles se penchent ou s’allongent. De nombreux Canadiens et Canadiennes ont des brûlures d’estomac ou régurgitent de temps en temps. De tels symptômes deviennent fréquents chez les personnes atteintes de RGO.

Ces patients peuvent aussi ressentir des symptômes atypiques : mal de gorge persistant, voix rauque, toux chronique, difficulté ou douleur à avaler, asthme, douleur à la poitrine inexpliquée, mauvaise haleine et plénitude inconfortable après les repas.

Dans certains cas, l’acide gastrique remonte dans le sphincter supérieur de l’oesophage, ou SSO, jusque dans la gorge et il endommage les structures qui y sont liées. Cette affection, appelée reflux laryngo-pharyngé (RLP), est devenue un diagnostic à considérer par les médecins dont les patients s’éclaircissent la gorge, toussent et ont la sensation d’un noeud dans la gorge de manière chronique. Il se peut que l’acide qui traîne dans la gorge soit respiré par les poumons. Cela irrite le délicat tissu pulmonaire et provoque des symptômes semblables à ceux des maladies courantes des poumons.

Trop de reflux d’acide gastrique peut entraîner une inflammation de l’oesophage (oesophagite), un saignement ou des ulcères à l’oesophage. Une cicatrisation chronique peut mener au rétrécissement de l’oesophage, nuire à la capacité d’avaler et nécessiter une intervention chirurgicale. Quelques patients souffriront de l’oesophage de Barrett, une affection caractérisé par une détérioration grave des cellules qui recouvrent la partie inférieure de l’oesophage. Les médecins estiment que l’oesophage de Barrett accentue les possibilités de contracter un cancer oesophagien. N’hésitez pas à consulter votre médecin si vos symptômes de RGO changent.

Diagnostic

Dans la plupart des cas, si vos principaux symptômes sont des brûlures d’estomac ou une régurgitation acide, votre médecin pourra établir un diagnostic de RGO avec exactitude. Parfois cependant, des tests sont nécessaires pour confirmer le diagnostic ou évaluer jusqu’à quel point l’oesophage est endommagé tout en éliminant d’autres origines possibles des symptômes. Ces tests peuvent comprendre le transit oeso-gastro-duodénal, une endoscopie du tube digestif supérieur et une mesure du pH oesophagien sur 24 heures. On procède aussi, bien que moins souvent, au test Bernstein et à la manométrie oesophagienne.

Maîtrise

Changement de mode de vie et de régime alimentaire. Bien que les données cliniques suggèrent que des modifications au mode de vie et à l’alimentation ne suffisent pas habituellement à vaincre un RGO chronique, il se peut que votre médecin fassent des recommandations sur votre régime alimentaire afin d’augmenter votre confort. Les aliments irritants varient d’une personne à l’autre. Cherchez donc à limiter dans votre propre régime les aliments qui vous irritent l’estomac. Éviter les trop grosses portions au repas en mangeant moins et plus souvent peut aider à maîtriser vos symptômes. Plusieurs personnes qui souffrent d’embonpoint verront leurs symptômes soulagés en perdant du poids étant donné que les kilos en trop mettent de la pression sur le tube digestif et nuisent à sa fonction. Il est aussi important d’arrêter de fumer si l’on veut réduire les symptômes de RGO. Des études indiquent que fumer relâche le SIO. Par ailleurs, les patients doivent éviter de s’allonger juste après avoir mangé et ne rien consommer de deux à trois heures avant le coucher. Relever la tête du lit d’une quinzaine de centimètres peut aussi aider mais ne le faites pas avec une pile d’oreillers car vous forcez alors votre corps à se plier et pouvez ainsi accroître la pression abdominale.

Médicaments. Le traitement du RGO au moyen de la médication part de deux approches principales : la neutralisation de l’acide et le blocage de sa production.

Pour neutraliser les acides, des médicaments en vente libre comme Maalox®, Tums® et le bismuth (Pepto-Bismol®) peuvent atténuer les symptômes. Certains patients trouvent que ces antiacides sans prescription offrent un soulagement rapide, temporaire ou partiel. Ils ne préviennent pas pour autant les brûlures d’estomac. Si vous utilisez des antiacides pendant plus de trois semaines, vous devez consulter votre médecin.

Deux classes de médicaments suppriment la sécrétion d’acide gastrique, à savoir : les antagonistes des récepteurs H2 (ARH2) et les inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons (IPP).

Les ARH2 agissent en bloquant l’histamine qui a pour effet de stimuler la production d’acide par certaines cellules de l’estomac. Ces médicaments comprennent la cimétidine, la ranitidine (Zantac®), la famotidine (Pepcid®) et la nizatidine (Axid®). Les ARH2 sont tous offerts par ordonnance; certains sont disponibles en vente libre en petites doses.

De leur côté les IPP agissent en bloquant l’enzyme nécessaire à la sécrétion d’acide. Ces médicaments comprennent l’oméprazole (Losec®), le lansoprazole (Prevacid®), le pantoprazole (Pantoloc®), l’ésoméprazole (Nexium®) et le rabéprazole (ParietMC). Au Canada, les IPP ne sont disponibles que sur ordonnance. Ils s’avèrent le traitement le plus efficace pour soulager les symptômes et améliorer la qualité de vie tout en guérissant et en prévenant les dommages à l’oesophage chez les personnes atteintes de RGO. Si vous préférez prendre un médicament sous forme liquide, vous pouvez mélanger Nexium® avec de l’eau. Certains IPP viennent en préparations pour enfants en bas âge aussi jeunes que 1 an. Pour être pleinement efficaces, il faut les prendre au moins une fois par jour pendant huit semaines même si le soulagement des symptômes intervient après deux jours environ.

La métoclopramide et le maléate de dompéridone sont deux médicaments utilisés pour réduire le reflux en augmentant la pression sur le SIO et les contractions oesophagiennes vers les bas. Enfin, Iberogast® est un agent pro-cinétique à base de plantes qui aide à réguler la motilité et à améliorer les symptômes de RGO.

Tous ces médicaments correspondent à des régimes de traitement spécifiques qu’il faut suivre attentivement pour qu’ils agissent au maximum. La combinaison de ces mesures réussit habituellement à maîtriser les symptômes de reflux acide. Certains médicaments et suppléments peuvent toutefois aggraver vos symptômes. Assurez-vous donc de consulter votre médecin ou pharmacien si vous avez des questions.

Perspectives

Les médicaments ainsi que les changements apportés au mode de vie et à l’alimentation permettent de maîtriser le RGO dans la plupart des cas. De graves complications sont rares. Le RGO demeure affection chronique pouvant aller de légère à grave.

Source : article adapté de l’information aux patients publiée par la Canadian Society of Intestinal Research, avec sa permission.

Info asthme allergies, numéro 4 2008

return Retour à la section de l'information sur l'asthme

| Politique de confidentialité | Contactez-nous | © AIAA, 2010
Site Web maintenu par Konecny Consulting Inc.